Skip to main navigation.

Innovative Energy Alliance, LLC

Innovative Energy Alliance, LLC Provides Management Services

The Boards of Director of Slope, Mor-Gran-Sou, and Roughrider electric cooperatives formalized a management alliance effective January 1, 2008.  The new management alliance was called Innovative Energy Alliance, LLC.

The Co-General Manager/CEO’s are Donald Franklund and Chris Baumgartner.  Franklund served as general manager/CEO of Mor-Gran-Sou for 13 years. Baumgartner began at IEA on May 21, 2012.  He had worked for Basin Electric Power Cooperative.  Baumgartner replaced Clayton Hoffman, who retired in January, 2013.

On June 1, 2012, IEA was contracted to provide management services for KEM Electric Cooperative until the end of the year.  KEM had the option of requesting to become a full member in IEA.  KEM submitted such a request.  After each present IEA member cooperative had approved the request, the IEA Board of Directors voted on August 14, 2012 to accept KEM as a full member of IEA, LLC effective January 1, 2013.

Presently, IEA also provides management services to 3C Construction, LLC; West Dakota Utility Service, LLC; West Dakota Real Estate, LLC; and West Dakota Temporary Employment Solutions, LLC.  These services are under West Dakota Holdings, LLC. IEA has their offices in the 3C Construction building in northwest Mandan at 4001 30th Avenue NW.

IEA, LLC has an eight member board of directors, made up of two directors from each of the alliance member co-ops.  They meet at least quarterly, and hold an annual meeting within the first quarter of each year.

IEA has 13 employees.  Besides Franklund and Baumgartner, they are: Charlie Dunbar – Chief of Information Officer; Rob Kelly – Manager of Engineering; Travis Kupper – Chief Financial Officer; Teresa Bauer – Manager of Human Resources; Darren Stastny – Safety Coordinator; Trisha Samuelson – System Engineer; Taylor Van Dyke – Civil Engineer I; Linda Peterson and Sandy Wade – Accountant II’s; Adam Bloms – System Administrator; and Krystal Eckroth – HR Assistant.  IEA works closely with the senior staff and employees at each member alliance cooperative by sharing skill sets and associated costs.

John Lee Njos, director of Slope Electric and past chairman of the Innovative Energy Alliance, LLC Board of Directors, stated “The alliance if helping all co-ops bring technology together to save costs and help build stronger cooperatives.”

Don Franklund Chris Baumgartner
Don Franklund Chris Baumgartner
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo